The IAFA Imagining Indigenous Futurisms Award recognizes emerging authors who use science fiction to address issues of Indigenous sovereignty and self-determination.

To be considered for the award, submit the following:

200-word statement with background & goals in writing SF

4,000-word maximum writing sample addressing Indigenous perspectives

Deadline: December 1, 2023

Send your materials as attachments to Professor Grace L. Dillon (

Use Word Document or PDF format

Name and Page numbers on story and bio

Double space the story and use 12-point font

Proof the work for typos and other errors.

The contest winner will be announced at the ICFA Awards Banquet and on the Imagining Indigenous Futurisms Facebook page at Not a member? Think about joining!

This year’s judge: acclaimed author Andrea Hairston

The Master of Poisons

Other Novels:

Will Do Magic for Small Change and Redwood and Wildfire

Published by Aqueduct Press at


Past Winners of the Imagining Indigenous Futurisms Award

 2023Alina Pete (they/them/theirs) (Little Pine First Nation) "Telling the Soul of Mars"
 2021Gina McGuire (ʻŌiwi, Polish) "Over and Away Again"
 2020Lennixx-Nickolai Treat Bad Moccasin (Dakota and Mnicoujou Lakota, Cheyenne River Sioux) "The Box"
 2019 Julia A. Thompson (Osage-Cherokee-Quapaw) "White Tide"
 2017 Co-winners Weyodi (Comanche) "Red Lessons" and Li Boyd (Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe)  "Everyday Strays"
 2016Co-winners Cleo Keahna (Ojibwe) "Transmission" and Cathy Smith (First Nations) "Liquid Courage"
 2015 Cara Mumford (Metis / Chippewa Cree) "The Whale Danced"
 2014 Zeera Nemo (Bodewadmi) "There Were Three Sisters" 
 2013 Marek Tupy "SE’QUAM LANDING"
 2012 Lucas Rawley (Inupiag/Scottish) "Catch and Release"
 2011 Jeanette Weaskus (Nez Perce Idaho) "Children of the Basalt"
 2010 Isaac Mayo (Wappo) "No Signal"

© International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts

Contact Us

The IAFA website is maintained by Skye Cervone and Michael Smith on servers at WildApricot and Dreamhost. Custom theme modifications were done by Skye Cervone.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software