William L. Crawford (1911–1984) was an American publisher and editor who produced the first full-size book issued by a publisher that specialized in science fiction. Mars Mountain, published in 1935, is a collection of science fiction short stories by Eugene George Key. Crawford created several publishing companies, including the Fantasy Publishing Company (FPCI), and edited several magazine series including Spaceway, Fantasy Book and Marvel Tales.

The IAFA Crawford Award each year recognizes an outstanding new writer whose first fantasy book was published during the previous calendar year. It is not specifically a first novel award. The award was established with the support of the late Andre Norton, who also helped establish the criteria and who continued to support the award over the years.

Crawford honorees have gone on to win a dozen World Fantasy Awards (including a Life Achievement Award for Charles de Lint), five Shirley Jackson Awards, five Locus Awards, four Hugo Awards, four Nebula Awards, and 27 other awards of various kinds. Two Crawford-winning novels have been adapted as feature films, Chitra Bannerjee Divakaruni’s Mistress of Spices in 2005 and Christopher Barzak’s One for Sorrow in 2014 (under the title Jamie Marks is Dead). While the majority of honorees have been residents of the United States, the international dimension of the award is reflected by winners from Canada, the U.K., Sweden, Barbados, India, Australia, New Zealand, and Malaysia. In terms of gender balance, 26 of the 38 awards (as of this writing) have been won by women.

Judges for the 2024 award are:  Niall Harrison, Cheryl Morgan, Mimi Mondal, Candas Jane Dorsey, Brian Attebery, Graham Sleight.

The Administrator is Farah Mendlesohn.

Past judges of the Crawford Award include:

Amelia Beamer Kathleen Massie-Ferch
Jedediah Berry Farah Mendlesohn
Liz Bourke Mimi Mondal
Karen Burnham Cheryl Morgan
John Clute Sofia Samatar
Candas Jane Dorsey Graham Sleight
Daryl Gregory Jonathan Strahan
Niall Harrison Liza Groen Trombi
Ellen Klages Genevieve Valentine
Kelly Link Paul Witcover
Adrienne Martini  

Propose a New Writer for Consideration

The submission period for the Crawford Award runs from 30th March to 31st December each year, for titles published during the year.

Publishers and authors are invited to submit their books to the jury via this website. Self-published work is permitted.

A title must be the author’s first fantasy book; it is permissible for an author active in a different genre to be submitted, as long as this is their first fantasy book. Children’s fiction and YA are eligible, as are poetry and short story collections. 

Please be prepared to upload the work in as many of these formats as you can, "the more the merrier": PDF, Mobi and EPub.

To propose a new writer for consideration for the award for next year, fill out this form: https://form.jotform.com/233517232455049.

Past Winners of the Crawford Award

Year Author Work
2023 Simon Jimenez  The Spear Cuts Through Water
Usman T. Malik  Midnight Doorways: Fables from Pakistan
Nghi Vo The Empress of Salt and Fortune
Tamsyn Muir Gideon the Ninth 
2019 R.F Kuang The Poppy War
2018 Carmen Maria Machado Her Body and Other Parties
2017 Charlie Jane Anders All the Birds in the Sky
2016 Kai Ashante Wilson The Sorcerer of the Wildeeps
2015 Stephanie Feldman The Angel of Losses
2014 Sofia Samatar A Stranger in Olandria
2013 Karin Tidbeck Jagganath
2012 Genevieve Valentine Mechanique
2011 Karen Lord Redemption in Indigo
2010 Jedediah Berry The Manual of Detection
2009 Daryl Gregory Pandemonium
2008 Christopher Barzak One for Sorrow
2007 Mary Rickert Map of Dreams
2006 Joe Hill Twentieth Century Ghosts
2005 Steph Swainston The Year of Our War
2004 K. J. Bishop The Etched City
2003 Alexander C. Irvine A Scattering of Jades
2002 Jasper Fforde The Eyre Affair
2001 Kij Johnson The Fox Woman
2000 Anne Bishop Black Jewels trilogy
1999 David B. Coe Lon Tobyn Chronicles
1998 Chitra Bannerjee Divakaruni Mistress of Spices
1997 Candas Jane Dorsey Black Wine
1996 Sharon Shinn Archangel
1995 Jonathan Lethem Gun,With Occasional Music
1994 Judith Katz Running Fiercely Toward a High Thin Sound
1993 Susan Palwick Flying in Place
1992 Greer Gilman Moonwise
1991 Michael Scott Rohan Winter of the World trilogy
1990 Jeanne Larsen The Silk Road
1989 Michaela Roessner Walkabout Woman
1988 Elizabeth Marshall Thomas Reindeer Moon
1987 Judith Tarr The Hound and the Falcon trilogy
1986 Nancy Willard Things Invisible to See
1985 Charles de Lint Moonheart

© International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts

Contact Us

The IAFA website is maintained by Skye Cervone and Michael Smith on servers at WildApricot and Dreamhost. Custom theme modifications were done by Skye Cervone.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software