David G. Hartwell at ICFA 36 in 2015. Photo by Bill Clemente.The International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts presents an annual award and stipend to the graduate student submitting the most outstanding paper at the Association’s conference. Originally named the Graduate Student Award, the award was renamed in 2016 to honor the late David. G. Hartwell.

A longtime friend of this conference (he first attended in 1984), David G. Hartwell served as IAFA Book Exhibit and Sales Director and as a member of the IAFA Executive Board from 1995 until his death in 2016. An American editor of science fiction, horror, and fantasy, as well as numerous anthologies, David founded the Timescape imprint at Pocket and was a long-time Senior Editor at Tor/Forge. He chaired the board of directors of the World Fantasy Convention, and, with Gordon Van Gelder, administrated the Philip K. Dick Award.  From 1988-2012, under his own imprint (Dragon Press), David published the influential and highly acclaimed New York Review of Science Fiction.  He was a friendly force to be reckoned with, and we miss him very much.

Past Winners of the Hartwell Award

Year Awardee
 2023Marissa Luquette 
Iuliia Ibragimova 
Robert Nguyen
Filip Boratyn
2019 Sheetala Bhat
2018 Kelli Shermeyer
2017 Grant Dempsey
2016 Jordan S. Carroll
2015 Taylor Evans
2014 Malisa Kurtz
2013 Cassandra Bausman
2012 Timothy S. Miller
2011 Mark DeCicco
2010 Elizabeth McManus
2009 Kurt Fawver
2008 Greg Bechtel
2007 Richard Landon
2006 Darja Malcolm-Clarke
2005 Christine Mains
2004 Rebekah Long
2003 Martin Horstkotte
2002 Eve Tal
2002 Sarah Canfield Fuller
2001 Janis Dawson
2000 David Sandner
1999 Ann Vasey
1998 Alexander C. Irvine
1997 Suzanna Nyberg
1996 Joel A. Hollander
1995 Greer Watson
1994 Diana Pharoah Francis
1994 Carter F. Hanson
1993 Robin Calfee-Moye
1992 Maureen King
1992 Marcelaine Wininger Rovano
1991 Rob Latham
1990 Jianjiong Zhu
1989 Michael Collins
1988 Sally Bartlett
1987 Veronica Hollinger

© International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts

Contact Us

The IAFA website is maintained by Skye Cervone and Michael Smith on servers at WildApricot and Dreamhost. Custom theme modifications were done by Skye Cervone.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software