Jamie Bishop (1971-2007) was the son of Michael Bishop, an award-winning science fiction writer, and Jeri Whitaker Bishop, an elementary-school counselor; he grew up in Pine Mountain, Georgia, the family’s hometown since 1974, and attended school there as well as in Athens, Georgia, and in both Kiel and Heidelberg, Germany. Jamie was an artist and a craftsman as well as an instructor of the German language at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Virginia Tech). He was among those killed in the Virginia Tech massacre of April 16, 2007.

The Jamie Bishop Memorial Award is a prize for a critical essay on the fantastic written in a language other than English. The IAFA defines the fantastic to include science fiction, folklore, and related genres in literature, drama, film, art and graphic design, and related disciplines.


Submission criteria:

  • Essays should be of high scholarly quality, as if for publication in an academic journal.
  • We consider essays from 3,000-10,000 words (or English equivalent) in length, including notes and bibliography.
  • Essays may be unpublished scholarship submitted by the author, or already published work nominated either by the author or another scholar (in which case the author’s permission should be obtained before submission).
  • Essays must have been written and (when applicable) published in the original language within the last three years prior to submission.
  • An abstract in English must accompany all submissions; an English translation of the title of the essay should also be included.
  • Only one essay per person may be submitted each year.
  • Submissions must be made electronically in Word format.

Deadline for submissions: October 15th

Prize: $250 U.S. and one year’s free membership in the IAFA to be awarded at the annual International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts held each March. Winning essays may be posted on the IAFA website in the original language and/or considered for publication in the Journal of the Fantastic in the Arts should they be translated into English.

Please direct all inquiries and submissions to:

Terry Harpold
Associate Professor of English, Film & Media Studies
Dept. of English
University of Florida
4008 Turlington hall
PO Box 117310
Gainesville, FL 32611
Email: <iafa.bishopaward@fantastic-arts.org>

Past Winners of the Bishop Award

Year Awardee(s) Finalists, Semi-finalists, and honorable mentionsLink
2023   Priscilla Layne and Sang-Keun Yoo Yilun Fan  
 Szilvia GellaiJean-Louis Trudel2022
Maria Beliaeva SolomonMarcelline Block, Tessa Sermet, and Yu Xuying2021
2020Valentina Gosetti and E.J. KentRomain Bionda and Dennis Schäfer2020
2019 Alessandro Cabiati Zofia Litwinowicz and Juan C. Toledano Redondo2019
2018 Guangyi Li  Luis Cano, Anio-Kaisa Koistinen, and Jerry Määttä2018
2017 David Dalton  Sylvia Kurlat Ares and Juan C. Toledano, Kaitlin R. Sommerfeld2017
2016 Natacha Vas-Deyres and Patrick Bergeron  Bodhisattva Chattopadhyay2016
2015 Fernando Ángel Moreno, Mikel Peregrina, and Steven Bermúdez Antúnez Sophie Beaulé,Teresa López Pellisa, Francisca Noguerol2015
2014 Vera Cuntz-Leng Merja Leppälahti, Clotilde Landais2014
2013 Ezequiel De Rosso Paweł Frelik, Mariano Martín Rodríguez, Fernando Ángel Moreno2013
2012 Pampa Olga Arán Juan Carlos Toledano Redondo, Sophie Beaulé, Alfredo Suppia2012
2011 Alejo Steimberg
2010 Pablo Brescia
2009 Sandor Klapcsik
2008 María Beatriz Cóceres
2007 Carlos Abraham

© International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts

Contact Us

The IAFA website is maintained by Skye Cervone and Michael Smith on servers at WildApricot and Dreamhost. Custom theme modifications were done by Skye Cervone.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software